Can an Uninsured Driver Receive Compensation for a Car Accident Injury?
Uninsured drivers may drive without coverage for many reasons. They may have a lapse in car insurance because of missing a payment or their policy ran out. Some may forget to renew their policy. However, in the state of Illinois, it is illegal to drive without car insurance. If someone without car insurance is in an accident, they may not know what to do next, especially if they weren’t at fault. When these matters become complex, having the expertise of a Prince Law Firm lawyer can help.
While being an uninsured motorist who wasn’t at fault for an accident can be a nerve-wracking situation, it may benefit you to learn more about auto insurance laws in Illinois.
Illinois Auto Insurance Law
Typically in an accident, the person who wasn’t at fault will be able to seek compensation from the person who was at fault. Although, this is considering both drivers have insurance.
In Illinois, citizens are required to have certain items covered with their auto insurance. The first is liability coverage, which will cover bodily injury and property damage in an accident. For each accident, the minimum amount of bodily injury coverage for each person is $25,000. There is a $50,000 total limit for bodily injury per accident and a $20,000 property damage limit per accident.
There is also a facet of coverage that’s meant for underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage. The minimum for uninsured motorist coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
So, what happens when you weren’t at fault but you don’t have the insurance coverage listed above?
There may be limitations on what you can recover because you don’t have insurance. There are some states that adhere to No Pay, No Play laws, which means an uninsured driver can recover economic damages, such as medical bills and property damage. However, another large aspect of recovery and compensation is considering noneconomic damages, such as pain and suffering. In No Pay No Play states, uninsured drivers cannot recover noneconomic damages.
Currently, Illinois is not a No Pay, No Play state. You may be able to recover economic and noneconomic damages. But it’s important to remember that each case is unique and you may not know what you’re entitled to. This is why it’s imperative to have a reliable auto accident lawyer at your side. An attorney from Prince Law Firm can review your case and review its validity. From there, we can discuss what you will be able to recover.
While you may be able to get compensation even though you were driving without insurance, this doesn’t mean you should continue to drive uninsured. It’s illegal, dangerous, and can have many serious repercussions that can cause a lot of stress.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
As an Illinois driver, you need to have insurance. The penalties for not having insurance are steep and can impact you financially and even affect your ability to drive.
The first and second offense are the same. They can result in a fine between $501-$1,000 and a license suspension of up to three months. You’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee of $100.
At the third or subsequent offense, you still have a license suspension of three months and will have to pay the reinstatement fee. The fine goes up to $1,000.
Money is often a factor in why people drive without insurance. But as you can see, it can be even more costly to not have it. Not only can those fines cause a heavy hit to your bank account, but losing your license for three months can make everything much more difficult. You may need to find alternative transportation to get to work as well as figuring out when you can run essential errands like getting groceries.
Contact Prince Law Firm Today
When someone else was at fault for your accident, you should be able to get compensation for your losses. Medical expenses can skyrocket, especially if you’ve had to stay in the hospital. As you’re trying to recover, you’re also thinking about how you’re going to pay back these bills.
Our attorneys will carefully investigate your case to find out how the other driver acted negligently. Then, we’ll fight for you to get a fair settlement so you can recover without worrying about how you’re going to afford bills and put food on the table.
Starting your case as soon as possible gives us a better chance of finding evidence to help your case. Give us a call today and we can set up a free consultation.